RWBY Episode One: A Runthrough

Hello everyone, it’s MissMash with her first real post!

So, to kick off my blind liveblog of RWBY, let’s talk about stuff! Namely: spoilers, which I will not tolerate. I’m pretty good at guessing twists, and if you give me the slightest hint, it makes the whole figuring-stuff-out-as-I-go-along thing a lot less fun. Heck, I count teasing hints like “omg the next episode will blow your mind!” and “don’t worry that character isn’t what you’d expect!” to be serious offenses.

The only things I know about RWBY: Blake is a catgirl(?????), and somebody shoots somebody in the heart. With an arrow. I guess. Those things mean basically nothing to me, so even if they’re MAJOR MAJOR spoilers, don’t panic! I’ve got it all under control!!!

Now, the next hitch to address is the whole blind liveblog thing, which will not apply to the first episode, which I’ve already watched. Therefore, I’ll cover it with a quick runthrough of my opinions on it, and then start the liveblog proper with episode 2. I do not know my schedule for doing episodes, sadly.

Anyways, let’s get this show on the road:

Screenshot 2016-02-21 at 7.44.11 PM
My goal in this is totally to make you click on this to try and unpause it, by the way.

So we start off with foreshadowing/backstory involving dust and Man Vs. the Forces of Evil. I absolutely adore villains that are 100% evil and all-powerful, like made-of-darkness kind of stuff, so this looks promising.

Screenshot 2016-02-21 at 8.05.36 PM
Who needs regular guns when you haaave…That Thing

And then we switch to…a robbing! By someone who I will later find out is named Roman Torchwick, which reminds of those big colorful shooty candles. Roman candles, of course.

Two things about this scene: One, I was braced for the animation to look super SUPER awkward, and I was pleasantly surprised. It’ll be a bit slow from here on out, specifically in parts like the Ruby-shoving-cookies-in-her-mouth scene, but it could have been a LOT worse, and it looks gorgeous for what it is. And I pretty much know the animation will improve over time – as the audience and the plot expand, the budget will too, am I right?

Second, the voice acting. It’s not bad. At ALL. Specifically Roman going all “sh-sh-sh-sh-shhhhhh, calm down,” to the guy he’s robbing, which makes go all flaily for some reason. SO SMOOTH, ROMAN.

Screenshot 2016-02-21 at 8.05.54 PM
Did I mention how adorable Ruby is, by the way? Because OMG.

Ruby ignores the mook because she’s got her headphones in, which is awesome. We’ll get along just fine there, Ruby. I mean, we’d better, since your face is in my current page header.

Screenshot 2016-02-21 at 8.09.48 PM
Fire magic versus storm magic, huh? Interesting.

Pretty decent fight, and This Mysterious Lady comes in to help Ruby fight This Other Mysterious Lady. The magic looks awesome, and Ruby’s GIANT GUN SCYTHE THING is just so awesomely dangerous! I really like unique weapons. This scythe (which I’m pretending I don’t know the name of yet) is a winner.

Screenshot 2016-02-21 at 8.10.43 PM
(shh, no one can see me in THE SHADOWS)

Then we’ve got the interrogation scene. Pretty standard expositiony stuff, but it has some good dialogue here and there. Like Ruby’s reaction to the headmaster asking about her eyes. Note to self, eye color means Something.

Screenshot 2016-02-21 at 8.11.37 PM
Don’t actually answer this, but is one of them adopted because um

The final scene involves Yang Xiao Long, Ruby’s sister, whose name I looked up to make sure I wouldn’t get it wrong. I mostly know their names because I watched all the trailers before starting the series, and because I skimmed the RWBY TV tropes page a while ago – I am a massive troper, by the way. Anyways, I’m not entirely sure about Yang; her, uh, figure is a little awkwardly animated, to start with. But I’m reserving judgement.

The first episode ends with some narmy dialogue, some vomit jokes, and a goshdarn cool theme song thing. Overall, it looks to be a show with real potential! Liveblogging it will be slow going, but I can’t wait!

Screenshot 2016-02-21 at 8.18.52 PM
*insert “I’ll Make A Man Out Of You” here, since it had the word moon in it or something*

~*MissMash*~

2 thoughts on “RWBY Episode One: A Runthrough

Comments are closed.