Pokemon Moon Blind Liveblog {4}

GUESS WHO’S BACK! I hope you all had a good week! I don’t celebrate Christmas, but hey, my Hanukkah’s going all right.

Last time in Pokemon Moon, we beat Hau in the Iki Town Festival, as well as caught a whole lot of Pokemon on the way there (and kicked off a tradition of naming them after cartoon characters!) So far Tulip’s the only one who is a definitive team member, but we’ll see what changes, eh?

So to start off, I think it’s high time that I saw what the opening intro was like. LET’S DO IT!!!!

….Okay, welp! That was pretty cool, but not actually worth posting  any pictures of. I saw the male and female Trainers and the starters, and Lillie and several new Pokemon, and a ship and some riding on a Sharpedo. And a couple of long shots of Lunala flying through space doin’ Lunala things. All set to somewhat goofy music!

(My favorite intro vid is still definitely Black&White’s. IT WAS SO COOL)

Okay, let’s get on with the blog. We were in Leah’s house, yes?\

Hey, look who’s back!

Lillie just met my mom and she’s so shyyy~~~

Mom also apparently just gave me some money – I’ve got 35,420 right now, but I can’t tell how much of that is from her and how much is from Pokemon Trainers. I kind of doubt I’ll go bankrupt, though, so no worries!

Lillie’s taking me to the lab – and ooh, looks like it’s in a new area!

I KNEEEEEWWWWWW IT WAS A NICKNAAAME

I’m glad, too – Nebby would be, well, a bit odd to name a mythical(?)!

Whatever they are, Nebby’s rare and’s got some rare abilities.

Elaborate pls?????

Ah well, the mystery remains, but there’s another hint towards the evil team. More importantly, let’s go on ahead and fight some Trainers and dig around in the tall grass some more!

(guys i love the ‘care’ ability so much)

OKAY SO here I am, catchin’ a Wingull and letting Silkie the Grubbin fight some more against some stuff, and…

??????????? THE RETURN OF THE SLOWPOKE TAILS!! This means so many things! First, SLOWPOKE ARE STILL BEING EATEN! Also, THE DEX ENTRIES HAVE CHANGED FOR THIS GAME! And even, WHY IS SLOWPOKE SO BIG?!!! 3’11????? THAT’S HUGE FOR A WEIRD LITTLE PINK BEAR THING

Okay, anyways, this guy is named The Brain after the dude from Arthur. Moving on!

After training up a bit, Silkie’s at level 8 and Tulip at 11. Now let’s see…

…what Professor Kukui is up to?

Lillie is suffering. She is sick of all this.

On the bright side, Kukui’s house is bigger on the inside than the outside, nice! I spotted a Snubbull in the corner, along with some other little pink thing, before the camera panned over.

…? Where’s this going? Why’d Lillie invite me here, anyways?

Ohhhh, that’s so cool! I love that they’re bringing old Pokemon into this! YES, POKEMON WORLD, YOU ARE FILLED WITH MAGICAL BEINGS, TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THEM!!!

Kukui says “Here, boy!” to the Rotom. NO THEY’RE GENDERLESS WHAT ARE YOU SAYING

AHHH ROTOMDEX JUST FLEW AROUND AND THEN APPEARED ON THE BOTTOM SCREEN AND I MISSED A SCREENSHOT OF IT. This is WEIRD. And cool! And a little creepy. And creative!

I guess now I know what the bottom screen’s for.

Hey, dude!

And look, here’s the pink thing from earlier! This is the thing in Pokemon Refresh in the opening, isn’t it?

Hau wants to see the loft but Lillie gets all defensive. SHIP

Island challenge exposition time! There are seven trials, four islands, and four kahunas… and I just got an amulet. Neat!

Oh, I’m going to the Trainers’ School, am I? Where’s that, may I ask? (Also, Kukui’s Pokemon are running around in the background and it’s really cute.)

AM I IN CONTROL? THANK GOODNESS

Kukui’s lab has been thoroughly explored. TIME TO GOOOOOO

Here’s Leah in Route 1! It feels so good to have free reign of the place. I’ll probably take a little bit to run around and/or figure out where I’m supposed to go… oh wait, I should probably head back to that angry Tauros, shouldn’t I? See you there.

Aw yes, here we are! And look, the Center! I’ll finally be able to pick up that Munchlax.

This is so cool!!!! Just look at all the different stuff in the Centers now! And the cafe sounds really helpful – I’ll check that out, too.

And hey, look at this! Now I can…uh…get a Zen Mode Darmanitan? That was a thing, wasn’t it?

Uhhhh I just noticed that there were more than six options in the menu now and clicked on this new one, whhhhhat is this

(Also, is ‘Quick Link’ a play-the-game-along-with-someone thing, finally? AWESOME)

Okay, wow, Festival Plaza is involved as heck! It’s like a mix between that thing from Pokemon Black2 just outside Nimbasa and the PSS. They took away create-your-own messages, but at least there’s a lot to choose from??

I messed around in there for a while, but that seems like more of an endgame thing that I’ll look at later!

Heck yes, look at this!! I can nickname my Mystery Gift Pokemon! ALL IS WELL!!!!!!

I think I’ll name him Homer.

(I won’t be using Homer, by the way! I’ll stick with Silkie and Tulip for now.)

Down the road I go, and Lillie takes me to Kukui and some teacher lady. I like her design!

That was fast!!! But the real question is, does it work on just one Pokemon or all of them?

…Hmm, all of them, it looks like. I was hoping the Exp. Share and the Exp. All would be two separate items in this gen. OH WELL! Time to track down four different trainers and battle them!

First one found. LET’S GO, SILKIE

…of course she’s got a pikipek THAT’S OKAY SILKIE, I BELIEVE IN YOU

Nah, I had to switch out to Tulip. Eh, it does make me realize that my whole team is weak to Flying. Not too worried yet, especially since I’m reasonably sure Grubbin evolves into something Bug/Electric, but still. HEAL ME LILLIE

Just found a patch of grass! Gonna run around in it for a bit and see ifRICK FRICK FRICK FRICK

IT’S A SILVER MEOWTH!! WHAT THE HECK???? WHAT ARE YOU????????

It’s like the weirdly colored Rattata! WHY ARE THESE POKEMON SUDDENLY GETTING DESIGN CHANGES???? WHAT IS THIS?!?!?1?!?

hjkl;skl WHY DON’T I KNOW ANY CARTOON CATS

OKAY I’M NAMING YOU CHESHIRE BECAUSE YOU’RE REALLY WEIRD

wait

w a i t

W A I T

ASFHKL;;LJGFDAADGK;’;LKJGFDSAASFHKL;’;LKHGFDSAASDGHJKL;LKJHGFDSASDGJKLKJHGFDAZSFHKL;OIUYTREAadfjl;ljhgdaASFHKL;’;LJHGDSASDGHJKL;

OH MY GOD I WAS HINTED THAT THIS WAS A THING BUT I FORGOT ABOUT IT

THIS IS GOING TO BE SO COMPLICATED WHAT THE HECK AHHHHHHHHH

HOW MANY POKEMON AND HOW MANY TYPES DOES THIS APPLY TO (DON’T ANSWER THAT)

I’M PRETTY SURE THIS IS WHAT MY FRIEND MEANT WHEN HE WAS SPAZZING OUT TO ME ABOUT SOMETHING AND HE SAID IT INVOLVED NINETALES AND I AM 99% SURE THIS MEANS WATER-TYPE NINETALES IS PROBABLY A THING?????

ARE THERE ANY POKEMON THAT HAVE BECOME GRASS-TYPES?!?! PLEASE TELL ME THAT THERE ARE SOME POKEMON THAT ARE NOW GRASS-TYPES EXCEPT DON’T ACTUALLY TELL ME I AM A BLIND LIVEBLOG REMEMBER TELL ME ANYTHING AND YOU NO LONGER GET REACTIONS LIKE THIS

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

OKAY MOVING ON LET’S BATTLE THINGS

!!!!!!!!!! GUYS IT HAPPENED AGAIN.

Funny, too, because I didn’t get anything but regular ole Magnemite for a while. I think I actually got awfully lucky to get an Alolan Form (is this what that means) Meowth on the first go.

So what type will this Grimer be? Dragon? Electric?

Nope, still Poison/Dark! Nice!

This is making me think, though. All Alolan Forms so far – Meowth, Rattata, Grimer, Vulpix – which I saw through a quick spoiler a few months ago – have been single-typed Generation One Pokemon. More Gen One bias, of course, but what other Pokemon could have these special forms, based on this…Right now I can think of Growlithe, Diglett, Electabuzz and Magmar, Goldeen…? HEY WOULDN’T A DIFFERENT-TYPED LAPRAS BE COOL?!!? This is a super weird but super AWESOME premise. And yet I’ve spent waaay too long searching for more Pokemon, so I’d better continue with this challenge.

….wait let’s search a couple more times

NEXT TRAINER AT LAST! That’s weird, we already had someone named Youngster Joey…?

Oh well. He just had a Metapod, so he wasn’t tough to beat.

The third battle is with THIS pushy child!

She had a Bonsly, which is a pretty cool Pokemon to see this early in the game! I wonder if it’ll pose a problem for SilkiNOPE MUD SLAP FOR THE WIN

I know where the fourth Trainer is, since he told me he’d only battle me once I’d beaten all the others, so I’ll go track him down.

AAAND IT’S TIME FOR BATTLE i forgot to take a screenshot but that’s okay right

He starts off with an Alolan Grimer! I’m glad I found one in the grass or else I really would’ve been caught off guard by its design.

Luckily, Silkie does just fine by spamming Mud Slap a lot! And…that’s his only Pokemon, huh? Yay, we did it!

She did get poisoned, so I healed her up with Pokemon Refresh. (which i lOVE)

Hooray, a TM! This one’s…good, I guess??? Ehhhh

And now the bell has rung and I’m being called to the office, oh no! (seriously, what did i do)

Off I go! I should probably mention I got the Quick Claw while I was exploring the school building earlier. Silkie’s pretty slow, so I’ll give it to her for the time being.

Oh hey, look at this! SECRET SURPRISE FIFTH BATTLE DESU!

She has a Magnemite, horror of horrors. I still have MUD SLAP! so it’s not a problem. And a Dark-type Meowth? What are the odds??

Once we beat her, we get some Great Balls, yay! I was wondering when I’d need those!

Woah now, there’s a cool new design!

So she’s the captain, and she’s gonna give me a trial over at Verdant Cavern, huh? Pretty cool!

(You know, I haven’t heard talk of any gyms yet, either…I was figuring that the island challenge was just the gym circuit under a different name, but could it be that we really aren’t collecting badges and all that jazz in this game? Pretty bold move for Nintendo to take, but…)

Anyways, it’s time for MORE LILLIE yaayyyyyyyyy

You know, it’s kind of nice that a random roadblock isn’t just functioning as, you know, a random roadblock, at least for now. It’s actually got some bearing on the plot. Look, even Hala and Hau have gotten dragged into this!

I say that, and then Hala walks off with Tauros and everything’s all cool. Still.

Welp, Hau and Lillie are running off, and I’ve got free rein of Hau’Oli…which is apparently the biggest city in Alola?! That was fast!!

This game has such a unique tone to it! Like, everything about it just seems to scream ‘alola.’ The colors, the characters, the buildings, even some of the dialogue. THIS IS FUN!!!!!

To end off, here’s a screenshot of my current party:

Silkie really grew on me this episode, and I’m looking forward to her evolution. Hopefully Tulip will see some more battles once Silkie’s caught up in level to her! As for the other three Pokemon, I don’t think they’ll be part of the team…well, Cheshire is cool, but it’s a little early to have half my team down with dozens and dozens more options, isn’t it?

See you all next time!

~*MissMash*~

Leave a Reply

