Pokemon Moon Blind Liveblog {6}

Another liveblog?! I must be on a roll! Hey all, MissMash here, and last time we left offffff

RIGHT HERE. Now, I did noodle around in the game a bit while I was waiting for WordPress to get its crud together, but all I did was play with Tulip and Silkie some more in Pokemon Refresh. They love me so much. My army will be unstoppable.

Hey, before I get tired of taking screenshots every four seconds, let’s take a look at my current party:

The naming theme of everybody being some animated character has not yet been broken. BUT WE DON’T HAVE TO TALK ABOUT THAT, because I think it’s time to go talk to Captain Ilima! I like him! He’s cool!!! Even though I keep forgetting his name!!!! vv n  vnvnnnvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvggggggggggggggg

I won’t be able to leave til the trial is over? Flashbacks to Pokemon Ranger nahhh, it’s cool. I’ve got a grass owl and a buggy bug. Surely Verdant Caverns won’t have any Fire- or Flying-types in it!

omg verdant caverns sounds like a grass name what if ilima is secretly a grass gym leader

I N W E G O

YES THANK YOU IT’S SO PRETTY

“Allow me to explain the basics of my trial.” Good, because no one actually has so far. My guess is a kind of puzzle?

OH I HAVE TO BATTLE SOME ALOLAN RATTATAS. Except…I accidentally pressed the screen when I was taking the picture so I have no screenshot of it. Whoops, moving on!

yooooooo do I get to keep it. do raticate get a special move

????!?

He says there’s a super tough Totem Pokemon somewhere in here! OH NO!

We can’t catch those Alolan Rattata? Aww. Well, you bet I’ll stick around afterwards and see what I find! (speaking of which, i see that tm behind you, ilima, it’s so obvious)

“This is but one of the seven trials you will face during your island challenge.” Okay, I was hazy on the numbers before, but this confirms that this game won’t have the regular old eight gym badges to collect. THIS IS ALL NEW TERRITORY. I’M SCARED.

AND IT BEGINS! Let’s get to it!

Oh, well, that TM’s up on a ledge, so I’ll get back to it. In the meantime:

i wonder what it could beeeee

As I was battling, I tested out my Rowlet’s Astonish, and it looks like Alolan Rattata still keeps its Normal typing! In any case, the battle didn’t last long after that.

Ooh, I found a Revive in a rock! I’d better go to that den to find the second ratATTA OMG IT JUST RUSHED AT ME WHY

I defeated it! Tulip should level up n –

why

sigghhhhh okay she’s in the yellow now from a Super Fang, but I think Tulip can tough out one more battle, and then I can switch to Silkie to keep the levels even.

OOH! THE TM WAS BRICK BREAK. THIS IS VERY USEFUL.

So I’m wandering around, and this place is a little more mazelike than I originally thought. The cloud of dust where Rattata is keeps moving, and I don’t see a ready way to track it. There might be more to this trial than I thought…

OH GOD NOT YOU AGAIN

Do I remember them? I’m saying “Sorry, who are you” because pounding them into the ground with a bird is not going to be cathartic enough.

file under: reaction image

OH NO, HE AGGRESSIVELY RAPPED TOWARDS ME…And it’s battle time!

Well, that was easy! At least Tulip got her two EXP. And now they leave. That sure did happen.

GOD I KNOW, DON’T JUMPSCARE ME LIKE THAT

…Okay, now I can keep going. But I can still see one of the Grunts back there. He’s still…he’s still going.

OH! I get it. They’re blocking off some of the dens, so there’s only one place for the Rattata to be now!

…..that’s no rattata, we have ACHIEVED RATICATE, FOLKS (I THINK I SAW THIS IN THE OPENING VIDEO)

And yooo Bug Bite was super effective! I guess it’s a Normal/Dark type!

I am now moving on to the Z-Crystal. RattataQuest is complete!

………..oh snap guys the music cut out

OH SNAP it’s….a raticate? i just…fought one of these?

OH SNAP GUYS AT LEAST IT’S A MAGIC RATICATE! Both my Pokemon are physical attackers, so a Defense rise will be a toughie, but Bug Bite should be okay!

Oh man, this thing is huge compared to Grubbin. BUT LOOK THE RATICATE JUST CALLED AN ALLY, THAT WAS PRETTY COOL

Bug Bite took care of the Rattata right away and this Totem Cate is gonna faint in one more hit, but…I wonder if I can sit here and see if Raticate calls more Pokemon? It’d be kinda cool to farm EXP from it, after all.

Nah, I’ve got a liveblog schedule to keep. Silkie almost just got knocked out, though – that Bite left her with just four HP o-o;;

But we did it!

o h HECK YES

And hey, it’s Ilima! I hope he chased out those Team Skull weirdos.

Not…really? It was just level 12, man, and it kind of got defeated by a Grubbin…

TRIAL COMPLETE!

Normalium Z, eh? Exposition me, Captain!

i am getting serious dork vibes from him. help me

So Crystals do indeed strengthen a move, but this one’s for a move of a certain type! Man, imagine taking a Normalium Z-alized Giga Impact from a Slaking. Not pretty. Do they all turn to Pulvurizing Pancake, though, like what Snorlax’s signature move thing was called?

Thank you for your Great Balls, Captain Ilima. And he healed me! Yay!

He wants me to go to Route 3 to see something, but I think I’m gonna stick out and find those Rattata, first. There’s a huge breakable rock in the corner – note to self, come back with Rock Smash.

(An interlude – I just battled and caught a Diglett, and its Alolan ability is…Tangling Hair? And now it’s a Ground/Steel type?? Rapunzel it is!)

And we’re out! I now have a Zubat, Diglett, and fancy Rattata. I looked a bit for a Raticate, but then Silkie fainted so I figured I’d get out of there.

Meanwhile. Ilima. Why are you being so formal. WE WERE LITERALLY JUST TALKING

Hey, it’s another familiar face!

I just got a little Z-Power diagram – but woah, the professor’s busting out the pokemon-catching tutorial too.

Pretty cool! I would not want to be on the end of that.

Apparently, Kukui lost Lillie somewhere in Route 3. Don’t worry, not-actually-my-cousin-because-I’m-pretty-sure-that’s-just-a-Hawaiian-term-of-familiarity-that-I-misinterpreted-horribly! I’ll go find her for you!

After I take a break, that is. I’m ending the blog here! We passed a pretty good milestone today – first trial complete! We also found out more about Alolan Forms and Z-Crystals and had another, uh, run-in with Team Skull. Those same two grunts are the only things I’ve seen so far of Team Skull. But those people harassing Lillie in the beginning were wearing white, weren’t they? Interesting…

I put all the Pokemon I caught back into the PC Box, so my team of two is starting to feel a little lonely. I daresay it’s time to start looking for another partner on Route 3! Who knows, maybe we’ll have a new friend next time!

See you soon,

~*MissMash*~

Leave a Reply

