Pokemon Moon Blind Liveblog {9}

It is I, MissMash! Currently I’m at a friend’s house, but we all like Pokemon, so I don’t think anyone would mind if I started a liveblog now.

Take a look at my team:

Dug has been properly leveled! With luck, he’ll be up to 21 by the end of this blog. It was fun level grinding with him, too, even if we weren’t in the greatest area for him, and he has absolutely no ability to fight Mudbray, and he died like over twice more times than the rest of the team combined (once after two Grubbin teamed up against him). (no offense silkie).

So here I am, ready to continue the Grand Adventures of Leah!

PANIOLA RANCH! Already I can see both a Pokeball and a Zygarde bit, so I’ll be picking those up on my way.

I’m in a Pokemon Battle, and I’ve noticed that all the Trainers I’ve come across have the same ‘Trainer spotted!’ opening theme – which is a little disappointing, I won’t lie, because the music that came before the battles in B&W was awesome!

Hey, it’s Mallow! Hm, she’s a chef, right? And she’s checking out these Miltank? Uhhh…..

(oh, she’s just here for the moomoo milk. suuuuuuure.)

Uh????? Okay I have this now

I was gonna go off and try out Stoutland’s sniffing ability right away, but I accidentally activated a little boss fight thing against this Tauros! Why not, I’ll try it out!

I got a Scope Lens!!

this is so cute by the way

Looks like this is a pretty long, Trainer-heavy route, so I’ll be here for a while! Here’s a list of the notable things that happen:

-Dug died to a Mudbray again

-The Hidden Power lady gave me a TM and told me she’d check Hidden Powers!

-Not the daycare, but the NURSERY! And….IT GAVE ME AN EGG!!! I’ve probably hatched several hundred or thousand of those back in X&Y, but the very first one in a new game is an occasion to celebrate! (what wILL IT HATCH INTO)

-More hidden items

-An AMULET COIN

-“Look at the lustrous heads of my Pokemon!” thank you for that dialogue, pokemon breeder amanda,

-A whole bunch of items, both hidden and not

-And finally, some Sudowoodo performing their age-old duty of acting as ROADBLOCKS! They also dropped the hint that Captain Lana is a Water-trainer…not a problem for Silkie and Tulip, but I’m trying to train up Dug the Rock-type, so…wooooo.

Here’s Route 5! I gotta start my challenge by defeating all the Trainers. And there’s a pair of Twins over there….LET’S GO.

Hello, friend!

Hello, jerkface!

i-i have to choose it. I HAVE TO.

Oh sick, it’s Gladion! I thought this would be Lana. The boys-who-look-like-girls vibe is strong within this game.

yoooooo do we finally have a cool villain (who is null i want to meet them)

Also, can I…just……….

yurio

OH HEY WE’RE BATTLING! He has… a Zubat! Yeah, uh, you keep trying, buddy.

????? What am I about to see, here?

?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

Okay, well…it’s down and out. Right now my guess would be Dark-type, since the only move it used was Pursuit, but…Bite, Breakneck Blitz, and Rock Throw were all neutral. I wonder if, considering its name, this thing doesn’t HAVE any type advantages or disadvantages. Where can I get one?? The heck????

He’s homeless? Character details YES!! Also, we haven’t seen the female Grunts til now!

ALSO, CAN I JUST

abel

Anyways, it’s interesting that we’ve got a villain member that the lackeys don’t like very much. Hmmmm.

FFFFFFFFFFF STOP THE PRESSES, I FOUND SOMETHING NEW AND ADORABLE

Quality screenshot coming up as soon as I CATCH THIS THING. or wait. it fainted. FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF

oh my god where are they.

OKAY, OKAY, I FOUND ONE, I CAUGHT IT, I’M NAMING IT NOW,

There we are! This animation name is more obscure than usual; it’s after Princess Amalia Sheran Sharm from Wakfu.

I was expecting Bug/Grass, but Fomantis is just pure Grass! NEAT! I cannot use her, sadly, because I have Dartrix already, but I might keep her around and see if I can evolve her anyways. Because she evolves once and WHAT DOES HER EVOLUTION LOOK LIKE, SHE’S A GRASS TYPE AND I NEED TO KNOW.

(I had a dream a few nights ago that Espurr had a Grass-type Alolan Form and they were pink with a green leafy head, like a Hoppip. Didn’t catch one, sadly.)

Update – at last, Dug is level 21! Now I don’t have to worry about using him against Lana!! Let’s get there first, though, shall we? Someone just mentioned that there’s a Center near Brooklet Hill, which would save me a lot of time; I’ve been running back to Paniola to heal up.

Heckin’ look at this, guys! There’s a dude in the Center who’ll take my Lillipup for something called Bounsweet!

It’s purple and it’s a Grass-type. WELP, FOMANTIS IS GETTING KICKED OFF THE “ONLY HERE TO EVOLVE” SPOT

If you look closely at that cruddy screenshot, you will see me, taking the picture, forgetting to make sure I wasn’t reflecting on the screen. I am at peace with this. Bounsweet spiritually represents me. It was meant to be.

(Though its adamant nature DOES make me a little bit nervous. I am a calm Special attacker by nature!)

Continuing with the trend of things-that-aren’t-worth-screenshotting-but-I-should-mention-anyways, this one trainer has something called a Morelull. Whatever it is, it resists Dark-type, and it’s modeled after those creepy hypnotic fungi! It also avoided both of Dug’s Rock Throws, who I’d happened to decide to use for this battle, and knocked him out. Gosh dang it, Dug. Please stop dying.

I made it to Brooklet Hill, and look, it’s Lana! She’s so cute and shy-looking!

She wants me to follow her. I’ll do that after I fight thi – oh wait that fisherman killed Dug again, gotta go heal

I’ve been finding a ton of Water-types on my way through, but this one is probably the most notable – could this be the first new Water-type besides Popplio/Brionne, actually?! And it’s the first Water/Bug type since Surskit! This is reminding me a lot of Pokemon Uranium; that game also had a new trio of Fire-, Electric-, and Water/Bug Pokemon. This time around, we’ve got Dewpider and Charjabug, to name some.

Aaanyway, here we are! Lana looks more like a guy in this shot than Ilima ever did. (She’s talking about this mysterious swirly thing in the lake, by the way.)

yo what

yoooooo! Even if Lana’s making us do this, at least we get to Surf in style!

~*I am now inserting a brief intermission for all the time I wasted swimming with Lapras and fighting Trainers and reviving Dug again*~

OKAY OKAY LET’S GO SEE THE MYSTERIOUS SPLASHY THING.

It was…this!!! Look at its sad little face! Holy snap I’m naming this thing Sadness. I don’t care that he’s a guy, his name is Sadness, it’s perfect, it’s an inside joke, I’m doing this

PERFECT

OMG GUYS THE EGG I GOT FROM THE DAYCARE IS HATCHING AND I MISSED TAKING A SCREENSHOT OF IT BUT IT’S HERE NOW AND THE POKEMON IS AN…..oh.

Maaaaaaan it’s not newwwww

nah it’s cool guys, his name is tom, he’s pretty chill

I have reached the next Pokemon, and….it’s another Wishiwashi! It’s an even higher level than Sadness, so I’ll catch it too. You can never have enough Wishiwashi. NEVER.

…okay, like, I said that, but this wishiwashi has just called for help successfully four times in a row. no. FIVE TIMES. I WAS EXAGGERATING. STOP THIS

While I battle the sixth seventh eighth ally, please have a humorous screenshot of one of the things I’m multitasking with.

OKAY. The fish finally managed to knock out Silkie, so the original Wishi got knocked out, so I caught the second one – which was still male and level 18. That was. So many fish. I gotta heal.

how did she get past me

Rotom just asked the same thing, so I’ll just assume that she’s being a giant troll about the whole Wishiwashi splashy thing and fighting fourteen consecutive Wishis is just her master plan to have the worst trial ever. BRING IT.

uhhhhh sure okay

OH MAN, THINGS JUST GOT DIFFERENT, THE TRIAL JUST STARTED AND I MISSED THE “TRIAL START” SCREENCAP BUT I GOT THIS ONE AND THIS WORKS TOO RIGHT

TRIAL START. From the looks of things, I’m about to face off against Wishi’s EVOLUTION! LET’S SEE WHAT YOU GOT, SADFISH

lapras nooooo

DUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUDE

HOW’S FRIGGIN KOIZILLA SOUND FOR A NAME FOR THIS THING

And up in rotation to fight it is Tulip. She’s got type and level advantage, but it’s still raining, so this isn’t gonna be easy…

It can call Alomomola for an ally? WHYYY

IT KNOWS HEAL PULSE WHYYYYYY

It’s okay, it’s fine, we’re whittling them down. Tulip isn’t too badly hurt because she’s avoided moves and gotten critical hits with her affection, but Wishiwashi has gotten defense boosts, Growl has lowered Tulip’s Attack, and I think Soak got rid of Grass STAB, to top it all off. But she’s using Razor Leaf, which hurts both other Pokemon at once!

ALOMOMOLA IS DOWN.

NOW THERE’S A TINY WISHIWASHI. DFGJKL;

Here’s the situation now! I’m Charging up with Silkie a bunch (and healing) so that she can tank Water guns and take out Big Wishi with Spark. If that fails, we’re going back to Tulip, whose Razor Leaf was doing fine until the Growls stacked up.

Three Charges should be enough….Spark time! *whole game is electrocuted, dies* no, actually, this is working. ONE MORE SHOULD DO IT-!

crud no it wasn’t. ONE MORE.

Oh, thank goodness – Schooling is deactivated!! I’m facing two (relatively) normal Wishis now! Heck, I’m switching back to Tdonulip for this!

THAT’S IT! We did it!! Excellent work, guys – that was TENSE!

don’t you act all innocent, lana

IT IS DONE.

Oh, sweet! Now I can catch – there was that guy in the Center who wanted a Feebas, I guess! After the liveblog’s over, I can stay late and do some fishing.

Good lord, look at her face. she’s so SMUG

wait, was she trolling me again. LANAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Yes, please! There’s a closer spot than here I can fish at.

Hey, there’s some useful info! Sounds to me like we’re gonna be finding some…Fire-types!!!!!!!! vulpix vulpix vulpix

And that’s where I’m ending the blog for the night. This has been my longest blogging session to date; the making of this post has taken around six hours, partially due to some breaks for dinner and transport. But what a ride!!! Oh man, that Wishiwashi fight was awesome. And we met some cool new people, and a cool new villain, and some cool new Pokemon, and a fish that is Sadness from Inside Out incarnate….!!! I LOVE IT!!!

As for the potential new team members – what I’m aiming for right now are some Pokemon to balance out my team. I’m actually very nitpicky about my team members, but what I’m looking for are: two more males and a female (since I’ve got two females and a male right now), two to three Special Attackers (since I’ve got three physical attackers now, and we’ve all seen in the case of Mudbray w/Stamina what not having a wide range can do to you), and three Pokemon that don’t share a type with Tules, Silkie, and Dug. Water is almost certainly going to be one of these types, so that’s why Sadness the Wishiwashi, who fits all of these qualities, is looking like a pretty viable member of the team! I haven’t even seen Pyukumuku yet, though, and so while I’ll play around with training up Sadness, he’s not a solidified team member yet.

So, anyways, I’ll see you all in the next installment! Thanks for reading!

~*MissMash*~

3 thoughts on “Pokemon Moon Blind Liveblog {9}

  1. yeah wishiwashi doesn’t evolve, it merely has the ability to transform by summoning several wishiwashi to make its giant badass form, but only can use this ability after a certain level.

    also, this isn’t TECHNICALLY a spoiler but its something you may need to know, some pokemon won’t evolve until they’re a certain level AND in a certain area in the game. So uh, that’s gonna be annoying.

    Like

    1. I stopped at ‘not technically a spoiler’ XD Thank you SO much for commenting, but I’m staying away from outside info as much as possible!! Even if what you say is useful (which I know it is, I’m still wandering around blind here) I’m gonna come back to it once I’ve finished the game.

      Like

      1. oh no worries at all :3 I was a little hesitant to post something but wanted to be helpful regardless.

        You keep on enjoying the game!

        Like

Leave a Reply

