Pokemon Moon Blind Liveblog {11}

Another liveblog, and so soon, too! Hi all! I picked up the game in my off time so I could run back to Brooklet Hill to grab a Morelull, since I’d seen somewhere that they could only be found at night (and night in the game is midday irl). Then I took so long nicknaming it (Johnny Bravo is fitting right…….) that I was settled into the game and figured what the heck, I’ll keep on going.

Pokemon is my life and this game is taking over my life.

Feels weird reminding you guys so soon of where we left off, but here is Leah! Let’s not waste any time and get moving – maybe I won’t whittle the day away again on a liveblog this time!

Random NPC guy mentioned that Kiawe was a dancer. I’d like to see that, dude!

I went the opposite way of the Wela Volcano and found that there’s this nice little beach, and I’m able to access hidden items more now because I have Lapras! Oh boy, I’ll be spending a good bit of time here…and hey, there was that beach on Hau’Oli….aw jeez this is why this isn’t a let’s play

dUDE I found all these strange little caves here with dust clouds on the ground and I walked into one and found….oh it’s just Diglett nvm

I found a Swimmer out here! Seriously, this is like a whole other optional route!!

Hey, you know, since this is all a sidequest thing as far as I know, I’m gonna let Bouncee battle whatever I find. I really want her to evolve, and besides, next up in the level-to-24 rotation is Dug – and he’s not gonna be the greatest in the water. Gotta save him for the Fire-types just across the road.

New Pokemon sighted – Mareanie! LOOK AT THIS LITTLE GROTESQUE PURPLE

Would like to inform that Bouncee just fought a Shellder and survived five Icicle Spears plus a critical. Please share your love and respect

(she fainted to something else while I was typing that but that’s fine)

TM THUNDER WAVE HAS BEEN FOUND. All shall fall before Silkie.

And in the center of this odd little island is a fishing pool…all I’m finding here are Magikarp and a Heart Scale, just like Brooklet Hill, but could there be something else too?

(Also, it is currently nighttime in-game and I’m p sure that if I bathed in this thing I would turn into a mermaid)

Hmm…UGH I don’t want to waste more hours and hours fishing up Magikarp over and over, so I’m moving on. This is unsettling me. Why is this here?

OH. OH MAN GUYS. I FOUND A PYUKUMUKU WHILE I WAS SURFING

guys!!!! it’s so cute!!! it’s cuter than the tiny little blobby sprites made it out to be!!!!!!

I, uh…what do I name it?? My first instinct is Patrick except HECK no because he’s an awful character nowadays and this Pyukumuku is a sweet innocent blobby little piece of pie. I…ummmmm……….

there is no better name

This thing is the last thing in the Pokedex for Akala, so I don’t think he’ll evolve, so I’ll stick with Sadness for now…he does have an interesting ability, though. “Innards Out.” Nice name, there.

Well, I feel better now about PROBABLY missing out on Big Secret 1% Chance Pokemon Encounters, so I guess I’ll go explore elsewhere!

(‘Elsewhere’ means Melemele Sea in Hau’Oli City, save me from this completionist madness)

Holy gosh there’s even more here than there was in Route 7.

??!?!?!?!?!?!!?

Well, if ever I’ve read a Pokemon fanfic, the proper response to a cute, injured Pokemon is to scoop it up in your loving arms and run, full-tilt, unstoppable, to the nearest Pokemon Center, probably exacerbating its injury all the while, until finally dumping into the gentle care of a nurse so that the Pokemon can later fall in love with you and join you on its epic quest of its own volition, and of course that Pokemon is either a shiny or a legendary because obviously it is.

But that’s stupid so let’s just give it a Potion.

Oh, a Trainer just came back! And…Mareanie like to eat Corsola’s branches, apparently? Is their name from ‘marine’ and ‘meanie?’ I just got a Wide Lens, so there’s that!

And there go the Corsola. (dangit)

Aha! Checking the Pokedex reveals that both Mareanie and Corsola can be found in the area I am currently in by fishing. Which means, oops, looks like I’ve got another one-percenter fishing quest coming up.

Now, I did just go to Bulbapedia and look up the percentages (as I admitted did with Feebas, because the last thing I want to be doing is wasting anyone’s time), and Corsola has a much better chance of being found in bubbling spots, and Mareanie is one of its ‘allies.’ So, nice! I guess I’ll just have to look for those!

I have found this little friend, though!! I actually adore Finneon and Lumineon. Sadly, they don’t get a lot of attention…

LEVEL 29 AND HOOOOOO IT’S HAPPENING

Tsareena!

 tsarina.jpg

(This is apparently what an actual tsarina looks like, for  comparison. Yeah sure why not)

I checked the description of Trop Kick and heck YES she’s learning it, it’s a seriously decent physical Grass move! We need more of those.

Now that that lovely intermission for this intermission is out of the way, Imma talk to you about Game Design:

So here’s me, near a fishing spot in Melemele Sea, trying to find bubbling spots to increase my chance of getting Corsola (and thus, Mareanie). I’ve figured out that you have to reset the area you’re in to reset the bubbling spots, which is a problem, since I AM in open sea, after all – it’s a hassle to swim back and forth from the scene-change by the beach to here, using Repels all the while, or to find a spot to land on in Hau’Oli Outskirts and then get right back on Lapras.

However! Going just a bit to the left of these rocks marks you close enough to the shore to change your location to the Outskirts. Going back, naturally, sends you back into the sea. And so:

All you have to do to reset for a bubbling spot is make one tiny lap around these rocks.

And I may not really know anything, but I know THAT’S good game design.

And, I kid you not, the ripples you see in the screenshot? THAT HAD A CORSOLA IN IT! It’s up on my screen right now. I’ve just gotta figure out how to get it to summon a Mareanie ally (definitely getting that first, Corsola afterwards) without fainting it…Bouncee has Teeter Dance, so I’ll probably spam it.

My luck has changed. Mashy is pleased.

First cry for help: It happened! MAREANIE IS THERE!!!!

I immediately killed the crud out of Corsola with Trop Kick and I am CATCHING THIS THING, THE BALL IS SHAKING, IT HAPPENED, I HAVE MAREANIE, TAKE THAT REDLION I KNOW YOU WERE TRYING TO SPOIL THIS FOR ME BUT I AM A POKEMON MASTER WHO CAN FIND STUFF ON HER OWN LIKE AN ADULT

I NAMED IT BRANCH AFTER THE PROTAGONIST OF THE TROLLZ MOVIE WHICH I NEVER SAW AND I’M NOT EVEN FOND OF IT OR ANYTHING BUT I DON’T CARE IT’S PERFECT BRANCH IS PERFECT

Okay. Okay. Well, I’m bumping Sadness, first of all, because even though Mareanie isn’t looking like much of a Special attacker, I have GOT to try it out. I didn’t catch a Pokemon of my friend’s favorite typing for nothing, gosh dang it!

And there’s my Corsola!

Well, there it is, guys…that felt like SO much more of an adventure and an accomplishment than it probably was, but I now have a Whole Bunch of Cool New Water Types!!!!!! It’s time for me to finally make my way back to where I was ACTUALLY supposed to go, the volcano, but hang tight; I’m making a pit stop along the way.

Bounceee…has been a good friend to me. Throughout the good times (mareanie) and the bad (feebas), she has been there, Razor Leafing everything in sight…and yet, it is not her who I turn to for typing, but my starter, my Dartrix. And so I have to let her go.

It was recommended to me by my friend (hi friend) that the ability I received for Bounsweet, Leaf Guard, is NOT the preferable one…so what I’m going to do is put Tsareena out to pasture in the Nursery with a nice gentleman to keep her company, and then they can make lil Bounsweet eggs and I’ll come back and hatch them for the other ability in the future, someday.

And, to the deepest of ironies, Johnny freaking Bravo the Morelull is the most optimal partner to put in there with her.

Farewell, Bouncee! Hold true to your truths and make your ideals a reality! I’LL NEVER FORGET YOU!

And here we are again at Route 7, a few steps from where we started! And that’s where I’m cutting the liveblog!

“But Mashy!” you cry, flailing your hands about, “you didn’t even make any progress in that episode! You just caught a bunch of Pokemon we already know about and badly commentated over it!”

Au contraire, young liveblog viewer! For while I am cutting le blog here, I am immediately starting up a new one. And this one, I promise, will ACTUALLY have Leah visiting the volcano. However, I cannot guarantee that I won’t again spend hours combing the tall grass for more new Pokemon.

….Sorry, retiring Bouncee put me in kind of a poetic mood :,)

May we meet again!

~*MissMash*~

Leave a Reply

