Pokemon Moon Blind Liveblog {16}

Greetings! Are you ready to see what awaits us in this installment of Pokemon Moon? Because I am!

[lost image]

Here’s Leah, hanging out where we left her in Heahea. See that pathway to the right (our right, not hers) there? THAT’S WHERE WE’RE HEADED!

Gotta make some small talk as I actually set my Nintendo up. Soo…how’s April going, huh? How’s the weather?

Never mind, we made it! More apologies for the image qualities, here. Evening always makes the screen reflect worse than usual, but when else will I have time to blog?

I stumbled onto Hano Beach and landed myself a part-time job. And I got 20,000 dollars for it, holy heck! This beach is actually a really nice place, and there looks to be an expansive water route next to it. But, knowing me and how long I spend exploring, I’ll save that part for after the hotel.

Here we are. Ooh, it’s lovely! It reminds me of that one thing from the original Pokemon Ranger game when you’re going over a narrow bridge with water on either side and there are Gyarados spitting Hydro Pumps at you.

Indeed I have…please tell me your name

…Yeah, I definitely haven’t been spoiled on this guy.

Faba is now inviting me to the Aether Paradise, which sounds a lot like a Poke Pelago. Maybe those are more plot-relevant than I thought? Nothing to do but agree!

Oh wait, a wild Hau appeared! Olivia came too, and hey, she mentioned that she’s never gotten married. Pretty random but pretty interesting plot detail to drop.

There’s a garden? You mean like….Grass-types?!?

Evidently, Aether Paradise can float. are we about to learn about pokemon slave labor

Okay, well, here we are. This place is very….pristine. Hmm. Should I be a little unnerved?

WOAH OKAY WE’RE NOT ABLE TO USE OUR POKE BALLS WITHIN THE FACILITY. I am unarmed. TULIP NO!

Yeah, excuse you….yyyyyou!

Wait, heck, Faba ISN’T the Aether president; he’s just a branch manager. I guess we’ll meet the branch manager in a second…? Will this be a plot twist?

(Alert, I just saw a mosquito in my room. If you see any random typos or keyboard mashes you’ll know why. The war has begun.)

New character ahoy! What cheery theme music.

Wicke just took us up the weird triangle elevator thing. And…wow, she knows I’m eleven!? That’s like the first time that a specific age has been dropped for the games.

Hau looks so much older than eleven and for some reason knowing that this is his actual age makes him so much cuter. HE’S STILL SO YOUNG

And on we go.

Yes, so you’ve said, but…what about the people? You’re not gonna blow up the world to keep the Pokemon safe, are you?

I don’t know this Pokemon! I ONLY HAVE A MAREANIE.

Gosh daaang, Pokemon is getting really real with us in this generation.

Okay, another reason I’m suspicious of Wicke – she’s shaking her head. Why would she have arbitrary character animation if she weren’t super important??

PRESIDENT NAMEDROP! Lusamine! I like it!

And now I have free reign! The first thing I did was open up Pokemon Refresh, and sure enough, my Poke Balls can still open and close. Maybe all this talk of jamming Poke Balls was only meant to refer to empty ones (like that one thing with Ghetsis!), but if not, then – Pokemon, you have been outplayed!

ASDFGHJKLKJHGFD; IT’S HER!!! IT’S!!!! THIS!!!! THE LADY IN THE MAGAZINE IN THE OPENING CUTSCENE!!!

I…it is her, isn’t it? That hair is a lot poofier than I would have expected. But dang, this design….this is a first female evil team leader if I’ve ever seen one.

so what if the aether foundation sucks the life out of pokemon so they can be immortal

(i really like this theme music, by the way)

HEY HAU, THIS IS A CONVENIENT TIME TO BRING UP THE OTHER CHARACTER WHO’S SUSPICIOUSLY BLONDE AND WEARS WHITE ALL THE TIME. ARE YOU TRYING TO IMPLY THAT LUSAMINE AND LILLIE ARE RELATED IN SOME WAY. A FAMILIAL WAY. MATERNALLY.

I’m decently sure that Lillie’s name freaked Lusamine out a little. BUT HOLD ON A SECOND….EARTHQUAKE!.mnb/ljh:JKkhvhl/kghjhklkbnklkkvhbhjkl;,.mn,bhjkl.,mnkjkl,mlj;jll

That was not the mosquito, that was me mashing keys while taking crazed photos of this SHINY NEW POKEMON THAT JUST APPEARED IN A COSMOG-ESQUE BEAM OF LIGHT.

TELL ME ALL YOUR SECRETS PLEASE.

Lusamine is not sure what just happened???? like???? did an alien just drop in on us??? ase;dfjkhas;dflkhasdf;jh

And all of a sudden I’m allowed to run around. WELL I guess I’m fighting this thing ok

AW DAAAAAAANG I AM FIGHTING AN ??? AND THIS IS SO TERRIFYING AND FRICKIN COOL BUT OF COURSE I CAN’T CATCH IT

I’m fighting with Mallah, and I just tried to pull off the Nasty Plot strategy like with Olivia, but it has Clear Smog?? WHY

Okay, I got its HP low enough and it just warped reality and DISAPPEARED!

you okay there, lu

IASD;FJKLSD;LAKSDFLSDKFSLDAKSDFSKLFSAKLASKL;FD LUSAMINE JUST SMILED EVILLY AND WAS ALL “THAT WAS UNDOUBTEDLY AN ULTRA BEAST” AND IT WAS CREEPY AS HECK AND GOSH FRICKING DANG IT MOSQUITO NOW IS NOT THE TIME

THIS FREAKING FACE

“It looked like it was suffering…I can’t bear to see that happen! I will save it. And I will love it!” 10/10 best villain screw team skull they suck so bad aether foundation where it’s at

dude what if aether foundation turns out to be SO evil that we have to team up with team skull and gladion and plumeria to take them out

dude hau is already so attached to lusamine what if he’s brainwashed by her and we have to fight him

This is perfect, actually. I needed a better move for Mallah!

Look at them being friends and being dorks!!

So…that’s what a malasada looks like, I guess?

ULA’ULA AHOY!

I spy….ASIAN CULTURAL INFLUENCES!

battlehau

Well, dang, now we’re doing this. like, okay. thanks for the heal

Hau still only has three Pokemon, the skrub! But hey, at least he evolved his Pikachu and hOLY CRUD RAICHU HAS AN ALOLAN FORM????

alolanraichu.jpg

Looks like it’s Electric/Fairy, and it might even have Levitate! I like the design a lot, I have to admit. They really cutened it up. It’s a higher level than I was expecting, though!

Mallah’s not exactly suited for this fight, so hey, come on out, Dug.

……nope he’s been oneshot with Psychic

And Bug Bite is supereffective! Psychic/Electric, then? That is an unexpected but super cool typing. Hau just switched to his Flareon and SILKIE NO. RUN.

Okay. Flareon is down, Brionne is down….aaaaand there goes Raichu! Okay, Hau, I take it back, your Pokemon are super tough and I’m really glad there were only three of them.

Right, we need to find Malie Garden…and I need to heal. I guess Hau didn’t feel like fixing up my Pokemon before he ran away like a lunatic.

But we’ve made it to the first Ula’ulan center! And you’ve probably guessed it, this is where we’re leaving off for the night!

dfghjkl;ḱjhgf SO MUCH STUFF HAPPENED. We met some characters AND THEY WERE REALLY COOL. I’m honestly not much of a “villain” type of person – there are really only so many unique motivations to be evil – but Lusamine seems really, really cool. That is, unless I’ve gotten her pegged all wrong and she really is a non-ambiguous good guy. But like. Come on.

Next episode – we’ll meet up with Kukui and probably get introduced to this island’s round of kahunas! And maybe we’ll get some new Pokemon or evolve some old ones?? Who knows!

~*MissMash*~

3 thoughts on “Pokemon Moon Blind Liveblog {16}

  1. honestly, if they didn’t want the player to think Lusamine was evil, they shouldn’t have given her totally evil facial expressions

    at least ghetsis didn’t have proper sprite models for him to constantly grin evilly with

    Like

  2. also! back in the dimensional research center someone mentioned Mohn, who is the guy who is in charge of Poke Pelago (you can trade beans to him to unlock/upgrade poke pelago islands)

    Like

    1. Whoops, sorry I never saw this addendum! I know – I talked to that one guy, and I’ve been doing a tiny bit in the Poke Pelago outside of recorded liveblog history. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

