A Blind Liveblog Appears: POKEMON MOON

Hey everyone, MissMash here!

So, Pokemon Sun and Moon came out a while ago. COOL. I like Pokemon a lot…it’s kind of terrifying, actually, how much I have memorized. I’ve loved Pokemon since my older brother bought Leafgreen and I would hang over his shoulder and watch and be really annoying. So that’s why, when Sun & Moon were announced, I decided that I wanted to have a Cool New Pokemon Experience, which meant that I would hole myself up in a secluded corner of the Internet and avoid absolutely every bit of information about the game. I would basically spaz out every time somebody mentioned the word ‘sun’ or ‘moon’ or ‘pokemon’ or anything and it was really stressful and how did I live??? BUT IT WAS ALL WORTH IT, because now I am an Entirely Unspoiled and Pure Fangirl Person who is going to liveblog the game by using terrible screenshots of a Nintendo screen taken by my phone. I am excited.

Okay, ‘entirely unspoiled’ is a stretch by now because there are some things that I inevitably absorbed through Internet Osmosis. The mind’s ability to retain every detail of a screenshot of a new Pokemon you saw for .75 seconds before flipping out and leaving is truly amazing.

STUFF I’VE BEEN SPOILED ON (OR THAT I THINK I KNOW)

*The region’s name is Alola, okay??? OKAY??? ARE YOU HAPPY, WORLD??? I WAS UNABLE TO AVOID IT SO YOU KEPT SHOVING IT IN MY FACE AND NOW I KNOW, OKAY???

*The starters were my biggest area of “oh my god don’t tell me,” but I am reasonably sure that they are some varient of an owl, a seal, and a cat, and one of them is probably named Rowlet, and the water owl guy looks like a Swirlix crossed with Rufflet. I guess.

*There is a tiger thing and a blue dog thing. Probably.

*There’s this Pokemon that’s really cool and has spikes?????? There’s another Pokemon in the Monster/Dragon egg group???

*Sandcastles. Tikis?

*I’ve heard one or two mentions of baby Pokemon and “Alola form,” leading me to believe that suddenly Pokemon have become CUTE. Possibly Smeagle. Oh my god all the information that I successfully suppressed is coming back.

*Do Pokemon have new type changes or something? Like, water-type Ninetales?

* The legendary Pokemon are Solgaleo and Lunala. Don’t worry, these are things I found out on purpose so I’d know which game I wanted based on the box art. (I’m playing Moon.) Lunala is Ghost/Psychic and Solgaleo is NOT Fire, but I don’t remember its exact typing, WHICH IS REALLY ANNOYING BECAUSE I FORGOT ITS TYPING IMMEDIATELY BUT I REMEMBERED COMFEY’S NAME AFTER SEEING IT ONCE???? WHY???

* There are Pokemon called Comfey (see above), Pikpek, and Mimicute.

* Finally, one kid actually brought his copy of Sun INTO CHEMISTRY CLASS and talked about it really loudly with his friend. Thus, from their generous offerings, I have learned that the villains are team…like, Skull or Scout, maybe? I also saw a screenshot (gosh dangit imgur) of a guy in a blue&white costume saying something Inappropriate. Oh, and there is one area of the game that appears yellow when the guy who is playing the game realizes you are avoiding spoilers and flashes the screen in your face.

* That’s about it, I think. I’m way more spoiled than I’d hope to be, but this Pokemon journey is still going to be REALLY FUN.

I’ve been typing for twenty minutes. LET’S START!!!!!

Spoiler Policy: Do not tell me anything that I haven’t directly acknowledged already. This very much includes ‘hyping me up’ in ways like ‘I can’t wait for the area you’re getting to next!’ or ‘The next Gym battle is tough!’ I don’t have an ask screener for this blog, so I am relying on all the kindness and integrity you’ve got, okay? Thank you!

See you in the next post,

~*MissMash*~

Leave a comment